Professional Development


ISAP Canada proudly celebrates the achievements of advancement professionals working for Canadian independent schools. The next awards ceremony will be held in February 2022 at our virtual biennial meeting and networking event. We hope the virtual format will make it easier for all recipients to join the awards ceremony!

We invite you to nominate a colleague in our industry for one of the 4 awards listed below, on or before December 21, 2021. 

Rising Star Award Those who, in the first five years of their career, have shown exceptional interest, aptitude, and enthusiasm for advancement.

McMillan-Edwards Award for Advancement Staff

This award honours Advancement staff who have worked in a Canadian Independent School for a minimum of 5 years, have performed "beyond the call of duty", and whose skills and contributions to all areas of advancement endeavours have been pivotal to the success of their respective offices, and without whose support, success would be unimaginable.

Mary Birt Award for Mentorship

Recognizes an independent school advancement professional who has given of his/her time and wisdom, reaching out as a mentor of a member(s) of our industry. In their role as mentor, this individual has been open and willing to share information, has demonstrated patience and has provided good advice to colleagues, with the end result of improving institutional advancement.

Sam Heaman Award
Honours advancement professionals who have provided outstanding service to ISAPC, the profession in the context of Canadian independent schools, and to their own school(s). This award attests to sustained proficiency in development activities during the recipients’ careers in Canadian independent school(s), and to their exemplary level of leadership in and commitment to the profession and its enhancement in Canada. Please note this award is not necessarily given biennially.

Past Award Recipients

List of 4 items.

  • Rising Star Award

    Past recipients of the Rising Star Award, which is presented biennially at the CAISAP National Conference since 2007.
    Read More
  • McMillan-Edwards Award for Support Staff

    Past recipients of the McMillan-Edwards Award for Advancement Support Staff, which is presented biennially at the CAISAP National Conference since 2015.
    Read More
  • Mary Birt Award for Mentorship

    Past recipients of the Mary Birt Award for Mentorship, which has been awarded biennially at the CAISAP National Conference since 2011.
    Read More
  • Sam Heaman Award Recipients

    The Sam Heaman Award recipients, which have been presented biennially at the CAISAP National Conference since 1992.
    Read More

Contact Us

ISAP Canada
Independent School Advancement Professionals Canada